Archive for the Security Category

Virus Infected Email

miqrogroove
2017-12-19T13:09:03+00:00
Screenshot of a fake Office 365 error message.

Danger! Do Not Touch!

If you see a Word document containing the following phrase, it is fake and should be deleted immediately:

This document created in online version of Microsoft Office Word

There is no such message ever issued by legitimate software.

Instructions included with the file asking the user to “Enable content” should raise red flags and serious concerns about the file’s origin.

A quick scan using an online virus checker confirmed this file is infected.  Be careful out there.

19 Dec 2017

Category:
Security

Discuss:
Comments Go Here

How to Block the Amazon AWS EC2

miqrogroove
2015-01-02T14:53:36+00:00

Years ago, I found it necessary to start maintaining a list of Amazon’s subnets so that I could block them easily.  This list can be used in .htaccess and firewalls that can block access using CIDR subnet addresses.

Recent entries are bold.

Read the rest of this entry »

2 Jan 2015

Category:
Security

Discuss:
Comments Go Here

Photo Privacy Broken on Facebook Timeline

miqrogroove
2012-01-10T16:31:14+00:00
Facebook Profile with sensitive areas blurred

My Public Profile Should Not Look Like This

Have you ever added one of your photos to a Facebook group?  If yes, you might want to delete your photo albums right now.  I discovered today that the Facebook privacy settings for photos do not work.

Inspired by a discussion about social media I heard on NPR, I went into Facebook to do a thorough check and re-check of all of my privacy settings.  Guess what?

Dozens of photos I have on my Timeline are now publicly available.  >:{  Every one of those photos is set to “Friends” only privacy.  When I click the “View As…” option and then “Public”, all of those photos are now appearing on my public Timeline profile.

To confirm this, I registered a fake account that has no friends.  I viewed my own profile using that new account and a different web browser.  When I scrolled down far enough on the Timeline, my old photos started showing up to this newly registered user!

The fake user gets nothing by clicking on the “Photos” section near the top, suggesting this bug is specific to the new Timeline profile feature.

In an unsuccessful attempt to hide the photos, I used my real account to reset the album privacy to “Only Me”.  At this point, the photos were still appearing in the public preview as well as the fake account viewing my real profile.

Read the rest of this entry »

10 Jan 2012

Category:
Security

Tags:

Discuss:
2 Comments